Travelling to Franz Josef

Hey Dad,

Today started with a quick walking tour of Christchurch in the pouring rain. It kind of felt like UK weather, which made a few of us Brits laugh. We walked around and learnt all about the earthquake which rocked Christchurch. There were buildings being held up with scaffolding, just waiting to be torn down as they are now unstable. It was also full of some amazing street art.

We walked around for about an hour, then back onto the coach for a five hour drive to Franz Josef. 

By the time we arrived at the hotel, we all had a quick shower and headed for dinner. We were served the closest thing to a roast dinner I have seen since leaving the UK. It was really good! 

After dinner we went to play pool. I of course was pretty rubbish, but so was everyone else. The next thing I knew we were involved in a scavenger hunt! Robyn managed to get to the final, after hunting for lemons, swapping clothes with a Damo and finding crazy items from strangers. She lost in the final after failing to unwrap a block of frozen underware. It was a bit crazy, but really funny. 

After the hunt, and a few more rounds of pool, we started on party tricks. After the ‘stick trick’ and my arm twisty thing, I was winning in our group. 

It was one of the most crazy nights I have had in new Zealand, and we were all having an early night and not drinking as we have to be up early for quad biking! I have not laughed so much in ages! 

I know a group tour like this would not have been your plan, but I am so glad I did this! The people I have met on this trip are just awesome, we are all having the trip of a lifetime! 

Well that’s all for now. A day full of activity tomorrow! 

Night dad x

Leave a Reply

